Dear Sheep

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Solving Chicago (Rahm…call me)

On August 3, 2007, The Tennessean published my column on solving our education problem here in Nashville. Since the Chicago system seems like it could use a little help, I am republishing the article as a public service. I never got a call from Metro Schools but maybe the Chicago Schools are more desparate. (Rahm…call me).
—-

Since a solution seems rather simple to me, I’ve decided to solve our education problem. I will ask $1 million annually (after tax) for my services. I will not raise that amount in my lifetime. I will need a bank account and a computer. I will put all of the monies devoted to education into the bank account. I will make a list of all students (public and private) eligible to attend school in Metro-Davidson and put them into an excel spreadsheet. I will then divide the total in the bank by the number of kids in the spreadsheet and write a check to each student for that amount. The check will require two signatures, or endorsements. The first will be the student’s parent(s); the second will be the school. The check can only be cashed by a school. A portion of my $1 million will go toward an annual audit of the bank account. That is my plan.

The student and his parent will have the choice of where to attend school (public or private). Schools will compete for the child’s education check. This is how education is done in most of Europe. Since the school must prove its value to the student and his parents, schools will offer incentives to better teachers. Bad teachers will be let go. Schools will develop niches. Some may concentrate on college prep and some on vocations. Some may gravitate towards music and others towards sports. Each school will offer the cores of education – math, science and literacy – because the parents, whose check is the source of the school’s budget, will hold the school accountable for how well they teach. Schools will also have the choice of accepting or declining a student. Because a student knows he must meet certain standards in order to attend his school of choice, education will become a privilege – not a right.

Based on this system, I don’t think we will need “more money for education” for at least ten years, maybe longer. Of course, there will be a period of adjustment while all this shakes out. But I promise you this – students will be better educated, and both students and teachers will accomplish more than they’ve ever imagined. Grades will go up significantly – guaranteed. Instead of being mired in mediocrity, students and schools will be given the key – a choice – to unlocking their unlimited potential.

I will be waiting for Metro Nashville-Davidson’s call. Once my plan is up and running, I will turn my attention to solving healthcare. (Hint: it won’t be more government).

John Shaw

 

September 19, 2012 Posted by | Life, politics | , , , | Leave a comment